Skip to article
Degrees of SatoshiFollow the connections.
Degrees of Satoshi/ History research

Dossier 09 Source-led history · Edition 1.0

Institutional Bitcoin Adoption: Treasuries, Insurance, Banks, Trusts and Public Investment Managers

Institutional adoption was not one trade and cannot be measured by one holdings total. A corporation can own bitcoin on its balance sheet; an insurer can place it in a general investment account; a trust can hold it for shareholders; a bank can safeguard keys for clients; and a public investment manager can own trust shares without possessing bitcoin directly. The distinctions are the history.

Coverage
September 2013—July 2025
Sources
21 cited records
Reading time
About 20 minutes
Last reviewed
Conceptual atlas of corporate treasuries, investment trusts, public investment managers and bank custody connected to Bitcoin
Institutional adoption created several governed claims on Bitcoin; corporate ownership, trust shares and client custody are economically distinct.Conceptual editorial visualization—not a documentary image · Degrees of Satoshi
In this dossier

At a glance

Verified record

Verified record for Institutional Bitcoin Adoption: Treasuries, Insurance, Banks, Trusts and Public Investment Managers
DateRecordVerified detailSource
25 September 2013Grayscale trust operations beginThe Grayscale Bitcoin Trust’s 2020 Form 10-K states that the Delaware statutory trust commenced operations on this date to hold bitcoin and issue beneficial-interest shares.[2] Grayscale Bitcoin Trust 2020 Form 10-K
19 November 2019GBTC files Form 10The trust filed to register its shares under Section 12(g) of the Exchange Act, establishing a public-company reporting path before U.S. spot Bitcoin ETP approval.[1] Grayscale Bitcoin Trust Form 10 registration statement
22 July 2020OCC recognizes bank custody authorityInterpretive Letter 1170 concluded that national banks may provide cryptocurrency custody for customers, including holding the associated cryptographic keys.[3] Interpretive Letter 1170: cryptocurrency custody authority
October 2020Square’s first corporate allocationSquare purchased $50 million of bitcoin; its subsequent annual filing described a second $170 million purchase in February 2021.[4] Square 2020 Form 10-K
10 December 2020MassMutual general-account investmentMassMutual purchased $100 million of bitcoin for its general investment account and a $5 million minority equity stake in NYDIG; NYDIG said it facilitated and custodied the bitcoin purchase.[5] NYDIG announces MassMutual investment and bitcoin purchase
31 December 2020GBTC year-end trust positionThe trust held 607,039.48515191 BTC with principal-market fair value of $17,716,477,727; the custodian held the bitcoin on behalf of the trust.[2] Grayscale Bitcoin Trust 2020 Form 10-K
February 2021Square adds to its treasurySquare purchased an additional $170 million of bitcoin after its $50 million October 2020 purchase.[4] Square 2020 Form 10-K
2021 fiscal yearTesla enters corporate treasury recordTesla purchased $1.50 billion of bitcoin, sold a portion during 2021 and reported $1.26 billion carrying value and $1.99 billion fair market value at year-end.[7] Tesla 2021 Form 10-K
20 July 2022Tesla reports a major conversion to cashTesla’s filed quarterly update said it had converted approximately 75% of its bitcoin purchases into fiat currency, adding $936 million of cash in the second quarter.[8] Tesla second-quarter 2022 filed update
October 2022BNY launches digital-asset custodyBNY’s annual report says its platform went live for select U.S. institutional clients and describes BNY as the first global systemically important bank to do so.[9] BNY Mellon 2022 annual report
13 December 2023FASB issues crypto fair-value standardASU 2023-08 requires in-scope crypto assets to be measured at fair value each reporting period with changes recognized in net income and enhanced holdings disclosures.[10] FASB issues ASU 2023-08 for crypto assets
31 March 2024SWIB’s first disclosed Bitcoin-trust positionsSWIB reported 2,450,400 IBIT shares valued at $99,167,688 and 1,013,000 GBTC shares valued at $63,687,310 in its Form 13F information table.[12] SWIB Form 13F information table for 31 March 2024
31 December 2024Block reports its corporate BTCBlock reported approximately 8,485 investment BTC with $251.5 million cost basis and $792.282 million fair value.[16] Block 2024 Form 10-K
31 December 2024Tesla reports its corporate BTCTesla reported 11,509 BTC with $386 million cost basis and $1.074 billion fair value.[17] Tesla 2024 Form 10-K
23 January 2025SEC staff rescinds SAB 121Staff Accounting Bulletin 122 rescinded the staff guidance that had addressed balance-sheet recognition for obligations to safeguard users’ crypto assets, effective 30 January 2025.[18] SEC Staff Accounting Bulletin 122
7 March 2025OCC rescinds the non-objection processThe OCC rescinded its prior supervisory non-objection process while preserving national banks’ cryptocurrency-custody authority and safe-and-sound expectations.[19] OCC Bulletin 2025-2 and Interpretive Letter 1183
7 May 2025OCC clarifies custody servicesInterpretive Letter 1184 confirmed customer-directed execution and permitted use of sub-custodians subject to third-party risk controls.[20] Interpretive Letter 1184: custody and execution services
14 July 2025Agencies publish safekeeping considerationsThe Federal Reserve, FDIC and OCC jointly described crypto-asset safekeeping risk-management considerations for banking organizations.[21] Interagency statement on crypto-asset safekeeping
01

One network supported five very different institutional claims

The phrase ‘institutions own bitcoin’ conceals more than it reveals. A corporation that purchases bitcoin with treasury cash records an asset belonging to the corporation; its common shareholders do not receive a proportional output on the Bitcoin blockchain. An insurance company’s general account holds assets against a broad set of policyholder obligations and capital requirements. A statutory trust owns portfolio bitcoin under a trust agreement while investors own shares. A bank custodian may control signing infrastructure for customer assets without owning those assets economically. A public investment manager can hold shares in such a trust without holding private keys or reporting any direct bitcoin at all.

Those structures nonetheless form a coherent historical transition. They translated a bearer-like digital asset into the languages of investment policy, financial reporting, custody controls, brokerage settlement and fiduciary oversight. That translation widened the set of institutions able to obtain exposure and made audited comparison possible. It also added intermediaries and legal claims that do not exist in self-custody. Institutional maturation should therefore be measured by the diversity and quality of these rails—not by adding every disclosed dollar, share and custodied coin into a fictitious universal balance.

02

A specialist trust built the first durable securities bridge

Grayscale Bitcoin Trust commenced operations on 25 September 2013, years before listed U.S. spot Bitcoin ETPs. Its structure was explicit: the Delaware statutory trust held bitcoin, issued fractional beneficial-interest shares and employed separate sponsor, trustee, transfer-agent and custodian roles. Shares later traded on OTCQX. Grayscale administered the vehicle, but the trust’s filing said the custodian held bitcoin on behalf of the trust. Calling those coins ‘Grayscale’s corporate bitcoin’ would erase the legal vehicle and misstate who bore the exposure.

The trust filed a Form 10 registration statement in November 2019. By 31 December 2020, it reported 607,039.48515191 BTC with principal-market fair value of $17.716477727 billion, up from 261,192.14022299 BTC one year earlier. Scale did not make the wrapper frictionless: the 2020 filing said the sponsor was not operating a redemption program, and secondary-market shares could trade at a premium or discount to the bitcoin represented by each share. This pre-ETF chapter demonstrated institutional demand while also showing why wrapper design, fees, redemption rights and custody were economically material.

03

Corporate treasuries and an insurer’s general account crossed the line in 2020

Square, now Block, purchased $50 million of bitcoin in October 2020 and another $170 million in February 2021. Its filing connected the investment to the company’s stated purpose of economic empowerment while saying it would continue to reassess bitcoin relative to the balance sheet. The first purchase was a conventional use of corporate cash rather than the leveraged capital-markets system later associated with Strategy. That made Square an important independent proof point: a public operating company could approve, account for and custody a finite treasury allocation while continuing to run its primary business.

MassMutual extended the experiment into a more conservative fiduciary setting. A 10 December 2020 announcement from NYDIG, containing a statement from MassMutual’s chief investment officer, records a $100 million bitcoin purchase for the insurer’s general investment account plus a separate $5 million equity investment in NYDIG. NYDIG said the bitcoin was held on its secure, audited and insured custody platform. A general account is not a wallet divided among policyowners; it is part of the insurer’s asset pool supporting contractual obligations. The significance was that Bitcoin entered an insurance investment process with long-duration liabilities, governance and custody requirements.

Disclosed acquisition cost · 2020–2021

Selected first-wave balance-sheet allocations

Exact announced or filed U.S.-dollar purchase amounts for three early institutional adopters. The figures measure acquisition cost, not current value, portfolio return or a market-wide total.

Exact values and reading notes
Selected first-wave balance-sheet allocations data
Institution and dateBitcoin allocationOwnership reading
Tesla · 2021$1.500bnCorporate treasury purchase under an Audit Committee-approved investment policy
Square · Feb 2021$170mSecond corporate balance-sheet purchase
MassMutual · Dec 2020$100mInsurance general investment account; NYDIG facilitated and custodied
Square · Oct 2020$50mFirst corporate balance-sheet purchase

Square’s two purchases are shown as separate decisions. MassMutual’s $5 million NYDIG equity stake is excluded because it was not a bitcoin purchase. Tesla did not disclose the acquired BTC quantity in its 2021 annual filing, so no quantity is inferred.

04

Tesla amplified the treasury signal—and then tested liquidity

Tesla’s 2021 annual filing records a $1.50 billion bitcoin purchase under an investment policy approved by the board’s Audit Committee. It also briefly accepted bitcoin as payment in specified regions, sold part of the position during the year and reported a $1.26 billion carrying value against a $1.99 billion year-end fair market value. Tesla brought the treasury decision into mainstream corporate and consumer attention because the purchaser was a large operating company whose product, cash and manufacturing decisions were followed globally.

The next chapter was equally instructive. Tesla’s filed July 2022 quarterly update said it had converted approximately 75% of its bitcoin purchases into fiat currency, adding $936 million of cash in the quarter. Institutional adoption did not create a one-way holding rule; management retained the authority to meet liquidity priorities. Tesla still reported 11,509 BTC at 31 December 2024, with $386 million cost basis and $1.074 billion fair value. Together, the purchase, sale and retained position show both strategic optionality and the governance risk borne by investors who do not control the coins themselves.

05

Banks turned private-key control into a supervised custody service

Custody was a separate adoption track. In July 2020, OCC Interpretive Letter 1170 concluded that national banks may provide cryptocurrency custody services for customers, including holding the cryptographic keys associated with cryptocurrency. The letter treated key custody as a modern form of traditional safekeeping, subject to risk management and applicable law. A later 2021 letter required supervisory non-objection before certain activities; the OCC rescinded that extra process in March 2025 while reaffirming the underlying authority. In May 2025 it further confirmed that banks may execute customer-directed purchases and sales of assets held in custody and may use qualified sub-custodians with appropriate third-party controls.

BNY supplied an operating milestone between those regulatory points. Its 2022 annual report says the bank launched a Digital Asset Custody platform for select U.S. institutional clients in October and characterized itself as the first global systemically important bank to do so. The claim concerns a service, not a BNY proprietary bitcoin allocation. Client assets, custody keys, bank capital and corporate investments must remain separate in any holdings analysis. The July 2025 interagency safekeeping statement preserved the same basic bargain: established banking organizations could provide the service, but cybersecurity, key management, legal, compliance, sub-custody and contingency risks still required a safe-and-sound control framework.

06

Fair-value accounting made corporate holdings easier to read

Before the new crypto standard, many U.S. companies treated bitcoin as an indefinite-lived intangible asset: decreases below carrying value could trigger impairment, while later market-price recoveries generally remained unrecognized until sale. This asymmetry made a treasury’s current economics difficult to read from the face of the financial statements. On 13 December 2023, FASB issued ASU 2023-08 for qualifying crypto assets. It requires fair-value measurement each reporting period, changes through net income, separate presentation and expanded disclosures including significant holdings, restrictions and activity.

Block and Tesla early-adopted the standard in their 2024 reporting, producing the exact quantity, cost-basis and fair-value disclosures used here. Block reported approximately 8,485 investment BTC at $792.282 million fair value; Tesla reported 11,509 BTC at $1.074 billion fair value. Better accounting does not stabilize the asset or turn unrealized appreciation into cash. It makes the volatility more legible and symmetrical. That is a genuine institutional advance: boards, auditors and investors can see period-end economics without pretending that a quoted market value is guaranteed sale proceeds.

07

A public investment manager entered through securities, not private keys

The State of Wisconsin Investment Board manages the Wisconsin Retirement System and other state trust funds. Its Form 13F for 31 March 2024 reported 2,450,400 shares of IBIT valued at $99,167,688 and 1,013,000 shares of GBTC valued at $63,687,310. The filing is notable because it placed Bitcoin-linked securities in the disclosed portfolio of a public investment manager responsible for pension assets. It did not report direct bitcoin, a wallet, or a private key, and it did not identify which specific SWIB-managed fund owned either line item.

Quarterly filings show that the exposure was actively managed. The reported aggregate value of Bitcoin-trust shares was $162,854,998 at 31 March, $98,939,461 at 30 June, $104,388,639 at 30 September and $321,501,621 at 31 December 2024. Those values are not net flows: market prices changed, GBTC disappeared from later snapshots, and IBIT share counts changed. The strongest historical conclusion is therefore narrow but meaningful. Public-sector fiduciary machinery could evaluate, purchase, report and resize a Bitcoin-linked security using the same disclosure system applied to other U.S.-listed holdings.

Form 13F reporting values · 2024 quarter ends

SWIB’s reported Bitcoin-trust securities exposure

Quarter-end market values of IBIT and GBTC shares reported by the State of Wisconsin Investment Board. The exact-value record distinguishes public-security exposure from direct bitcoin ownership.

Exact values and reading notes
SWIB’s reported Bitcoin-trust securities exposure data
Quarter endReported valueSecurities in the snapshot
31 Dec 2024$321,501,6216,060,351 IBIT shares
31 Mar 2024$162,854,9982,450,400 IBIT shares plus 1,013,000 GBTC shares
30 Sep 2024$104,388,6392,889,251 IBIT shares
30 Jun 2024$98,939,4612,898,051 IBIT shares

Values are Form 13F snapshots, not acquisition cost, net flows or a direct BTC balance. SWIB manages the Wisconsin Retirement System and other state funds; the filings do not identify the specific beneficial fund behind each position.

08

Institutional maturation expanded choice without erasing risk

By 2025, Bitcoin exposure could sit in a corporate treasury, insurance general account, private or public trust, brokerage account, bank custody system or public-manager securities portfolio. Accounting and bank guidance had become more explicit, and service providers had accumulated operating experience. This progression was positive for market depth and institutional credibility because it replaced ad hoc arrangements with named legal entities, audited statements, segregated roles and reviewable controls. It also preserved direct ownership as a distinct alternative rather than making one wrapper canonical.

The residual risks differ by route. Corporate holders face price, governance, tax and liquidity decisions; insurers must integrate volatility with policyholder obligations and capital standards; trust shareholders face fees, tracking and redemption design; custodians face key loss, cyberattack, sub-custodian and insolvency questions; public managers face mandate, political and fiduciary scrutiny. None of those risks proves that adoption failed. Their explicit management is what makes the institutional phase historically different from early informal exposure—and why an authority-grade record must state exactly which entity owned which claim at which date.

Reproducible evidence

Institutional Bitcoin exposure is an ownership map, not one holdings total

Selected primary-source snapshots separate the asset holder, the security owner and the custodian. Quantities and values are reproduced only where the reporting entity disclosed them.

Institutional Bitcoin exposure is an ownership map, not one holdings total
Institution and dateCategoryVerified exposureWho owned the claimCustody or service boundarySource
Grayscale Bitcoin Trust · 2020-12-31Asset-manager-sponsored statutory trust607,039.48515191 BTC; $17,716,477,727 principal-market fair valueThe trust held bitcoin; shareholders held beneficial-interest sharesCoinbase Custody held bitcoin on behalf of the trust; Grayscale was sponsor[2] Grayscale Bitcoin Trust 2020 Form 10-K
Square / Block · 2024-12-31Corporate treasury8,485 investment BTC; $251.5m cost basis; $792.282m fair valueBlock owned the corporate investment; Block shareholders did not own specific coinsCustomer bitcoin and corporate-investment bitcoin were separately disclosed[16] Block 2024 Form 10-K
MassMutual · 2020-12-10Insurance general investment account$100m bitcoin purchase; BTC quantity not disclosedMassMutual’s general account held the investment, supporting the insurer’s enterprise obligationsNYDIG said it facilitated the transaction and held the position on its custody platform[5] NYDIG announces MassMutual investment and bitcoin purchase
Tesla · 2024-12-31Corporate treasury11,509 BTC; $386m cost basis; $1.074bn fair valueTesla owned the bitcoin; common stockholders held an equity claim on TeslaThe filing reports the corporate asset, not customer custody[17] Tesla 2024 Form 10-K
BNY · October 2022Bank custody servicePlatform live for select U.S. institutional clients; no proprietary BTC quantity disclosedClients or their investment vehicles retained the economic claimBNY provided safekeeping infrastructure and related custody operations[9] BNY Mellon 2022 annual report
SWIB · 2024-03-31Public investment manager’s securities exposure2,450,400 IBIT shares worth $99,167,688; 1,013,000 GBTC shares worth $63,687,310SWIB reported trust shares, not direct bitcoin; the specific managed fund was not identifiedEach trust, not SWIB, held the portfolio bitcoin through its custody arrangement[12] SWIB Form 13F information table for 31 March 2024

The rows intentionally use different units because the legal claims are different. Adding corporate BTC, trust BTC, custodied client BTC and trust-share values would double count assets and create a false institutional total.

Evidence discipline

What the record establishes

confirmed

Grayscale Bitcoin Trust commenced operations in September 2013 and reported 607,039.48515191 BTC at 31 December 2020, held by its custodian on behalf of the trust.

[2] Grayscale Bitcoin Trust 2020 Form 10-K
confirmed

Square purchased $50 million of bitcoin in October 2020 and another $170 million in February 2021; Block later reported 8,485 investment BTC at 31 December 2024.

[4] Square 2020 Form 10-K · [16] Block 2024 Form 10-K
confirmed

MassMutual purchased $100 million of bitcoin for its general investment account and separately invested $5 million in NYDIG in December 2020.

[5] NYDIG announces MassMutual investment and bitcoin purchase
confirmed

Tesla purchased $1.50 billion of bitcoin under a board Audit Committee-approved investment policy in 2021, converted approximately 75% of its purchases to fiat by the end of the second quarter of 2022, and reported 11,509 BTC at 31 December 2024.

[6] Tesla 2020 Form 10-K · [7] Tesla 2021 Form 10-K · [8] Tesla second-quarter 2022 filed update · [17] Tesla 2024 Form 10-K
confirmed

BNY’s Digital Asset Custody platform went live for select U.S. institutional clients in October 2022; this was a client-custody service rather than a disclosed BNY treasury purchase.

[9] BNY Mellon 2022 annual report
confirmed

SWIB’s 31 March 2024 Form 13F reported IBIT and GBTC shares with a combined reporting value of $162,854,998, not a direct bitcoin balance.

[12] SWIB Form 13F information table for 31 March 2024
confirmed

FASB ASU 2023-08 introduced fair-value measurement through net income and enhanced disclosures for qualifying crypto assets.

[10] FASB issues ASU 2023-08 for crypto assets
inferred

The institutional-adoption milestone was the formation of several governed access and custody models, not convergence on one form of ownership.

[2] Grayscale Bitcoin Trust 2020 Form 10-K · [16] Block 2024 Form 10-K · [5] NYDIG announces MassMutual investment and bitcoin purchase · [9] BNY Mellon 2022 annual report · [12] SWIB Form 13F information table for 31 March 2024

Limits

What this record does not establish

  • This is a selected chronology of source-verifiable milestones, not a census of corporate, insurance, bank, trust, endowment or pension exposure.
  • Corporate bitcoin belongs to the corporation. Owning its common stock does not give a shareholder private keys or a redeemable pro-rata claim on specific coins.
  • An insurer’s general investment account supports enterprise and policyholder obligations; it is not a segregated bitcoin wallet owned directly by policyowners.
  • Bitcoin held by an investment trust belongs to that legal vehicle. The sponsor manages the product and the custodian safeguards assets, but neither role should automatically be counted as proprietary bitcoin ownership.
  • Custody balances are client assets or client claims, not bank treasury holdings. Combining custodied BTC with corporate or trust BTC can double count the same underlying asset.
  • Form 13F reports certain securities positions at quarter end. It does not report private keys, direct bitcoin, complete intraperiod trading, acquisition cost or the specific SWIB-managed fund behind each line item.
  • A change in dollar fair value can result from bitcoin price movement without any purchase or sale. A change in trust-share value can also reflect price, fees, creations, redemptions and share-count changes.
  • Fair-value accounting improves measurement but can make reported earnings more volatile. An unrealized fair-value gain is not operating cash and does not eliminate custody, tax, liquidity or governance risk.

Direct answers

Frequently asked questions

Which institutions in this history owned bitcoin directly?

Block and Tesla reported bitcoin as corporate assets, MassMutual announced bitcoin in its general investment account, and Grayscale Bitcoin Trust itself held bitcoin for the benefit of its shareholders. BNY’s custody launch concerned client assets, while the State of Wisconsin Investment Board’s Form 13F reported shares of Bitcoin trusts rather than a direct bitcoin balance.

Did the Wisconsin Retirement System directly own bitcoin in 2024?

The public record does not establish that. SWIB’s Form 13F reported IBIT and GBTC shares, not bitcoin, and did not identify which of the several funds managed by SWIB held each position. It is accurate to call this public-investment-manager exposure to Bitcoin trust shares, but not to assign the position specifically to a WRS trust or convert it into a direct BTC balance.

Does bank Bitcoin custody mean the bank owns its clients’ bitcoin?

No. In a custody arrangement, the customer or customer vehicle has the economic interest while the custodian safeguards cryptographic keys and performs agreed services. A bank’s client-custody balance should not be counted as the bank’s proprietary Bitcoin treasury unless the bank separately discloses such an asset.

Why did institutional adoption matter if Bitcoin itself did not change?

It created governed paths through systems that corporations and fiduciaries already use: board-approved treasury policies, audited financial statements, insurance general accounts, statutory trusts, qualified custody, brokerage securities and public-manager reporting. Those paths expanded access and professionalized operations, while leaving Bitcoin’s consensus rules and direct self-custody option unchanged.

Source register

Sources, datasets and technical references

Retrieved and reviewed 9 August 2026
  1. Grayscale Bitcoin Trust Form 10 registration statementGrayscale Bitcoin Trust / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · SEC registration filing

    The 19 November 2019 filing date and Exchange Act Section 12(g) registration record for GBTC shares.

    Open source
  2. Grayscale Bitcoin Trust 2020 Form 10-KGrayscale Bitcoin Trust / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · audited trust annual filing

    Trust formation and operating dates, legal and custody roles, share structure, redemption limits, exact 2019 and 2020 BTC quantities and principal-market fair values.

    Open source
  3. Interpretive Letter 1170: cryptocurrency custody authorityOffice of the Comptroller of the Currency · primary bank-regulator interpretation

    The 22 July 2020 conclusion that national banks may provide customer cryptocurrency custody, including cryptographic-key custody, subject to law and risk management.

    Open source
  4. Square 2020 Form 10-KSquare, Inc. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · audited public-company annual filing

    The $50 million October 2020 bitcoin purchase, $170 million February 2021 purchase and the company’s attributed investment rationale.

    Open source
  5. NYDIG announces MassMutual investment and bitcoin purchaseNYDIG / PR Newswire · first-party transaction announcement

    The 10 December 2020 date, $100 million general-account bitcoin purchase, separate $5 million NYDIG equity investment, NYDIG custody role and MassMutual CIO statement.

    Open source
  6. Tesla 2020 Form 10-KTesla, Inc. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · audited public-company annual filing

    The January 2021 Audit Committee-approved investment-policy change and subsequent $1.50 billion bitcoin purchase disclosed as a post-period event.

    Open source
  7. Tesla 2021 Form 10-KTesla, Inc. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · audited public-company annual filing

    The $1.50 billion 2021 purchase, partial sale, year-end carrying value, fair market value and temporary payment acceptance.

    Open source
  8. Tesla second-quarter 2022 filed updateTesla, Inc. / SEC EDGAR · SEC-filed quarterly company update

    Tesla’s statement that it converted approximately 75% of its bitcoin purchases into fiat and added $936 million of cash in the second quarter of 2022.

    Open source
  9. BNY Mellon 2022 annual reportThe Bank of New York Mellon Corporation · audited bank annual report

    The October 2022 launch of Digital Asset Custody for select U.S. institutional clients and BNY’s first-G-SIB characterization.

    Open source
  10. FASB issues ASU 2023-08 for crypto assetsFinancial Accounting Standards Board · primary accounting-standard announcement

    The 13 December 2023 issuance date, fair-value-through-net-income model and enhanced disclosure purpose for qualifying crypto assets.

    Open source
  11. State of Wisconsin Investment Board agency descriptionState of Wisconsin Investment Board · official public-agency record

    That SWIB manages assets of the Wisconsin Retirement System, State Investment Fund and other separately established state funds under a fiduciary standard.

    Open source
  12. SWIB Form 13F information table for 31 March 2024State of Wisconsin Investment Board / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · primary institutional-manager filing

    The exact IBIT and GBTC share quantities and reporting values at 31 March 2024.

    Open source
  13. SWIB Form 13F information table for 30 June 2024State of Wisconsin Investment Board / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · primary institutional-manager filing

    The exact IBIT share quantity and reporting value at 30 June 2024 and the absence of a reported GBTC line in that table.

    Open source
  14. SWIB Form 13F information table for 30 September 2024State of Wisconsin Investment Board / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · primary institutional-manager filing

    The exact IBIT share quantity and reporting value at 30 September 2024.

    Open source
  15. SWIB Form 13F information table for 31 December 2024State of Wisconsin Investment Board / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · primary institutional-manager filing

    The exact IBIT share quantity and reporting value at 31 December 2024.

    Open source
  16. Block 2024 Form 10-KBlock, Inc. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · audited public-company annual filing

    Block’s 8,485 investment BTC, $251.5 million cost basis, $792.282 million fair value, 2024 purchases, fair-value accounting and distinction from bitcoin held for customers.

    Open source
  17. Tesla 2024 Form 10-KTesla, Inc. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · audited public-company annual filing

    Tesla’s 11,509 BTC, $386 million cost basis, $1.074 billion fair value and 2024 adoption of the new crypto accounting standard.

    Open source
  18. SEC Staff Accounting Bulletin 122U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · primary regulator accounting guidance

    The 23 January 2025 issuance, 30 January effective date and rescission of SAB 121’s crypto-asset safeguarding-obligation guidance.

    Open source
  19. OCC Bulletin 2025-2 and Interpretive Letter 1183Office of the Comptroller of the Currency · primary bank-regulator guidance

    The 7 March 2025 rescission of the prior non-objection process, continued effect of custody authority and ongoing safe-and-sound risk-management expectations.

    Open source
  20. Interpretive Letter 1184: custody and execution servicesOffice of the Comptroller of the Currency · primary bank-regulator interpretation

    The 7 May 2025 clarification that banks may execute customer-directed transactions and outsource permissible custody and execution subject to third-party risk controls.

    Open source
  21. Interagency statement on crypto-asset safekeepingFederal Reserve, FDIC and Office of the Comptroller of the Currency · joint primary regulator guidance

    The 14 July 2025 recognition of safekeeping benefits and the continuing requirement for safe, sound and legally compliant risk-management frameworks.

    Open source

Cite this dossier

A dated, versioned reference

Degrees of Satoshi editorial project. “Institutional Bitcoin Adoption: Treasuries, Insurance, Banks, Trusts and Public Investment Managers.” Degrees of Satoshi, version 1.0. Published 9 August 2026; last reviewed 9 August 2026. https://degreesofsatoshi.com/history/institutional-bitcoin-adoption/

Editorial method

Contemporary primary records are preferred. Protocol behavior, business failures and government policy are treated as separate evidence categories. Interpretive claims are explicitly bounded; corrections should cite a source at least as strong as the record being revised.

Read the research standards